NMSU Extension Family and Consumer Sciences department recognized at national conference

WRITER: adchavez
CONTACT: Priscilla Bloomquist, 575-646-2877, pbloomqu

The Extension Family and Consumer Sciences department at New Mexico State University’s College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences recently brought home a slew of awards from this year’s National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences conference.

Twelve Extension agents, four specialists and a lifetime member represented NMSU at the conference, which took place in San Antonio, Texas, last month. New Mexico received seven Western Regional awards and three National awards. Judy O’Loughlin, the program director and Family and Consumer Sciences agent in Grant County, was recognized with the Distinguished Service Award.

Cindy Davies, the program director and Family and Consumer Sciences agent in Bernalillo County, was elected to a national board position and will serve as the NEAFCS vice president of member resources.

“It has been such a pleasure for me to have the opportunity to get to know this group of dedicated Extension Family and Consumer Sciences professionals,” said Priscilla Bloomquist, interim head of the Family and Consumer Sciences and Extension Family and Consumer Sciences department at NMSU. “These awards provide the national recognition they deserve for the outstanding programming they deliver to communities throughout the state.”

The following is a list of awards NMSU received:

First place National and first place Western Region Family Health and Wellness Award – Team leaders Karim Martinez and Cassandra Vanderpool; and team members Dianne Christensen, Chase Elkins, Aspen Achen, Jennah McKinley, Judy O’Loughlin, Leigh Ann Marez, Robin Mack Haynes, Laynee Kuenstler, Kelly Knight, Brenda Bishop, Vanessa Martinez, Nicole Lujan, Richard Griffiths, Leah Platero, Cydney Martin, Tony Valdez, Laura Bittner, Lourdes Olivas, Raquel Garzon, Shannon Wooton and Desaree Jimenez.

First place National and first place Western Region Program Excellence Through Research Award – Bryce Jorgensen.

First place Western Region Dean Don Felker Financial Management Award – Team leader Bryce Jorgensen and team members Karim Martinez, Brenda Bishop and Richard Griffiths.

First place Western Region Communications Award: Educational Publication – Raquel Garzon.

First place Western Region Communications Award: Newsletters – Cydney Martin.

First place Western Region Innovations in Programming – Team leader Raquel Garzon and team member Dianne Christensen.

First place Western Region Florence Hall Award – Raquel Garzon.

Distinguished Service Award – Judy O’Loughlin.

NEAFCS educates and recognizes Extension professionals who improve the quality of life for individuals, families and communities. For more information about the organization, visit www.neafcs.org.


I have been involved with publishing and marketing for the past 37 years. My passion is helping people share their voice. I am able to do this through two important venues: One, with Area-Info.net where people can share everything from opinions to events to news. It is your choice! What do you want to share? Two, through a new program called America's Real Deal I am involved with to help business owners get their voice heard. For people who love to save money and earn while saving, there is a new program called the r network. You are provided with a card that entitles the user to automatic savings on more than 300,000 products. Learn more about the revv card today. This is by invitation only to be some of the first people to get this card. I schedule speaking engagements with community groups and business groups to share my passion about the importance of "sharing your voice". Contact me directly at [email protected] for scheduling information.

You May Also Like