Mayor Suthers presents two awards during 2020 State of the City event

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Mayor John Suthers will present the Spirit of the Springs Lifetime Achievement Award to William J. (Bill) Hybl and the Spirit of the Springs Celebration Award to three El Paso County Public Health leaders after his State of the City address on Sept. 17.

Bill Hybl to receive 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

Mayor Suthers will present the Spirit of the Springs Lifetime Achievement Award to William J. (Bill) Hybl. Bill Hybl was raised in Pueblo and came to Colorado Springs to attend Colorado College. After graduating from The University of Colorado Law School, he served two years in the U.S. Army and worked as the deputy and assistant district attorney in Colorado Springs. He was elected to the Colorado House of Representatives in 1972, but left a few months later to serve as Vice President of The Broadmoor Hotel and Executive Director of the El Pomar Foundation. Hybl was Chairman and CEO of El Pomar Foundation for 30 years and continues to serve as Executive Chairman.

“As the leader of El Pomar Foundation, Bill Hybl has had a tremendous positive impact on the quality of life in Colorado Springs, Olympic City USA,” said Mayor John Suthers. “He is a visionary whose service to our community has been exceptional.”

Bill Hybl has received many awards, served on numerous community boards and held international positions, including two terms as president of the United State Olympic Committee. He was recently recognized with the naming of one of the City for Champions projects, The William J. Hybl Sports Medicine and Performance Center. He and his wife, Kathleen, have two sons and six grandchildren.

A tribute video that includes interviews with some of Hybl’s family and colleagues is available to view at https://vimeo.com/456007300/82fb2a42ed.

El Paso County Public Health leaders recognized with Spirit of the Springs award

The Mayor will recognize leaders from El Paso County Public Health with a Spirit of the Springs Celebration Award for their work during the COVID-19 pandemic. He is presenting the award to the following individuals for their collective effort to protect, inform and educate the community:

· Susan Wheelan, Director

· Dr. Robin Johnson, Medical Director

· Dr. Leon Kelly, Deputy Medical Director

“The city is grateful to the leaders of El Paso County Public Health for their swift response to this pandemic, their emphasis on collaboration these past few months and their contribution to our overall resiliency during this difficult time,” said Mayor John Suthers. “This is a small way of showing our appreciation for their critical work.”

Please visit ColoradoSprings.gov/SpiritoftheSprings for more information about the awards program.


Content is the most important part of having quality links to your website. With Area-Info.net, we provide a quality location to share your story and include links to your website to help you grow. If you would like to learn more, visit this page to see how you can use Area-Info.net to rank higher and quicker in search engines. Contact me directly at [email protected] with any questions, or to schedule speaking engagements.

You May Also Like