Next time you see a smoke-belching vehicle rolling down the road, do something about it.
The Regional Smoking Vehicle Program (RSVP) is designed to inform vehicle owners that their vehicle may be creating excessive smoke and emitting pollutants that are harmful to people’s health and the environment. Driving a vehicle with excessive smoke in Texas is a violation of the state’s smoking vehicle statute, which defines a smoking vehicle as one that either emits smoke for 10 or more consecutive seconds and/or whose suspended smoke does not fully dissipate within 10 seconds.
Texas law enforcement agencies may issue citations, punishable by fines up to $1,000, to drivers operating a smoking vehicle on any roadway.
RSVP allows North Texans to anonymously report vehicles emitting visible smoke and pollution. Use the online form within 30 days of seeing the vehicle.
To report a smoking vehicle, you’ll need the Texas license plate, the city of the sighting, the date and time observed, and the cross streets traveled.